A top amateur jumper, business owner and entrepreneur, cancer survivor, and friend to all – is there anything Devon Eret can’t do?

By HH Contributor Kristina McCombie

HH: Who is Devon? Tell us a little about yourself:

DE: I am a 29 year old who grew up in Colorado and am lucky enough to have a very supportive horse-husband. I did 3-day Eventing as a kid and teenager and then switched to jumpers after a hiatus in college. I was diagnosed with stage 2 breast cancer last year at the age of 27 and went through 4 months of chemo, 6 weeks of radiation and 2 surgeries and am happy to report that I am cancer free! I continued to ride and even compete up to 1.15m during treatment and my horse was a huge reason for me to get out of bed every morning. (Editors Note: Devon also runs a fantastic equestrian apparel business: Rose and Lace Equestrian. Check them out on instagram @rose_and_lace_equestrian)

HH: What horse(s) do you have right now and what are you working on?

DE: I imported and purchased my horse Calgary II (barn name is Gary) the same day that I was diagnosed with cancer. He is a 10 year old Oldenburg gelding that competed through 1.30m in Switzerland and has the quirkiest personality but is such a good boy.

Devon and Gary at The Colorado Horse Park

HH: What were some of your accomplishments this past year and what are your future goals?

DE: Just being able to ride my horse during chemo and radiation was a huge accomplishment for me! Plus I was able to show in the High Adult Jumpers with some pretty decent placings. We won our first blue ribbon at an A show during week 2 SIR this year in the High Adult Jumper speed class! My future goal is to the do the Low and hopefully Medium Junior/AO jumpers with him (if I don’t chicken out).

HH: Who do you idolize in the sport?

DE: There are a lot of top pro’s that I idolize, but I really love my fellow adult amateurs that make so many crazy sacrifices to do this sport. Working full time + riding full time + showing on the circuit + having a family + having any kind of social life is a serious challenge and I salute everyone who makes it happen.

HH: Who have you ridden with and what have you taken from each trainer?

DE: I have ridden with Alexia Honegger at Millbrook Equestrian the last 4 years. I have learned so much under her guidance and definitely wouldn’t be the rider that I am today without her. My biggest takeaway from her is that there is more to horses than just showing. We do a lot of cross training in other disciplines and have a ton of FUN and you can tell the horses love it!

HH: If your horse(s) was/were a person who do you think he/she would be like?

DE: Ryan Reynolds for sure! Super handsome but has a hilariously dark and arrogant personality (think of Deadpool).

Gary is really Ryan Reynolds

HH: What is always in your tack trunk?

DE: My helmet #mindyourmelon, carrots, rubber gloves/soap for tack cleaning and a first aid kit (adulting).

HH: What’s your favorite show and why?

DE: I love showing at Summer in the Rockies! The Colorado horse park does a great job with the show and always has fun activities like the Grand Prix and goat yoga!? I also grew up showing at this venue since I was 7 in pony club.

Gary and Devon Sailing Over the Breast Cancer Jump at The Colorado Horse Park

HH: Do you have any good luck charms or are you superstitious about anything?

DE: I show in the same pair of (washed) socks: unicorns pooping rainbows. So there’s that.

HH: If you weren’t riding and showing what do you think you’d be doing?

DE: Being more involved in the cancer community! I have made some wonderful friends and met some truly inspirational people and I would love to help others on their cancer journey. It’s not a club anyone wants to be apart of, but there are some pretty great people you get to meet.

Picture Credit: White Fence Photography

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply