Evening of Stars

What an evening the 2017 CHJA Banquet was! Held on January 6, 2018 at the Radisson Denver Southeast with almost 500 in attendance the evening was truly spectacular. Thanks to Franci Martin, the volunteers and the entire CHJA Board of Directors the ceremony was a huge success and everyone had a wonderful time. The silent auction offered a wide arrange of amazing goods to benefit the Colorado Hunter Jumper Foundation including apparel items, gift certificates and tack donated from many popular companies.

Fall River Farm Family

The evening started with drinks and appetizers while everyone bid on the silent auction items that ended around 8:00 pm. After a buffet dinner Sydney Ayers and Celia Thomas began the awards presentation. All award winners were presented with beautiful ribbons and jackets for champion, vests for reserve champion and long sleeved shirts for third place. All perpetual trophy award winners were given a beautiful wood frame and cork-board as a “keeper trophy.”

Jen Shannon and Cornerstone Farm

A few of the evening highlights included; The CHJA Lifetime Contribution Award and The Betty Weber Award being given to our late and dear friend Jim Calareso for his dedication to the Colorado Hunter Jumper community as a whole. The Keiri Kaneps Memorial Trophy was presented to Amberlee Wentz while the Marvin W. Luttges Adult Amateur Sportsmanship Award was presented to long time CHJA member Joyce Baldwin.

Just a Little Farm

A few of the perpetual trophy winners in the hunter and equitation rings were won by Kristina McCombie and her horse Kismet winning the CHJA Amateur Adult Hunter of the Year Award, Weimar and Caroline Molther were the winners of the Virginia Gentleman Perpetual Trophy for the highest points earned in the Group 1 Adult Amateur Hunter Division throughout the year. Grace McReynolds was awarded the CHJA Spirit of Excellence Award for accumulating the highest points in the USEF Junior Hunters and USEF Equitation Division combined. Dana Vollbracht’s Davidson earned the Playmaker Memorial Trophy for earning the highest number of points in the Group 1 Pre Green Hunters. The CHJA Spirit of Excellence Award was presented to Gianna Lanteri with her earning the most points in the CHJA Junior Hunter Division and the CHJA Junior Equitation Division combined. Dominic Gibbs and her pony GF Aurelia were in true form taking home both the Large Pony of the Year Award and the Farnley Fashion Grand Pony of the Year Award. The CHJA Grand Champion Pony Hunter Award was won by Starburst owned and shown by Hannah Wright. The Silent Running Perpetual Trophy was awarded to Aedan Mooney and Shining Star the CHJA Short Stirrup Champions. Austin Holland was the winner of The Cider Jug Memorial Trophy as the highest pointed Group 1 Adult Equitation rider.


Molly Madden and Kristina Matthews

Jumper highlights included Katie Gualtieri’s Castalano winning the Horse of the Year as well as the Jumper of the Year awards. Kristina Matthews and Neolisto van het Mierenhof were the overall Group 1 High Adult Amateur Jumper award winners for the third consecutive year and the Gershwin Memorial Trophy was won by Ishana II and Abigail Grace Kelly for accumulating the highest number of points in the Amateur Owner or Junior Jumper Divisions. Tom Boy and Janelle Ross took home the CHJA Jumper of the Year Award while Bomb Squad and Karie Slade were the winners of the Low CHJA Junior/Amateur Jumper Award.


Sarah Watson and Kristina McCombie

To view a list of all the 2017 award winners in the Group 1 and Group 2 categories please visit the Colorado Hunter Jumper Association’s web site at CHJA.org.

HORSE OF THE YEAR – Castalano and Katie Gaultieri

We are looking forward to an amazing 2018 season and can’t wait to celebrate with everyone next year.







0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply